About Islam

# Welcome

"Islam" means submission to Allah's will. A Muslim is someone who surrenders completely to Allah and accepts His commands and prohibitions to guide his life. Islam is a religion that plays a major role in everyday life of Muslims. It is an ideal way of life for every Muslim.
According to Islamic understanding, Islam is not a new religion, but the same way of life, which all prophets followed from the beginning of creation. As people deviated from the right path over and over again, Allah sent various prophets to remind them of the right way of life. With each new revelation, the previously valid one was replaced. Some of these prophets were Noah, Abraham, Moses and Jesus - peace be upon them all. The last prophet was Muhammad, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him. He is considered the seal of the prophets, after him there will be no further prophets and accordingly no further revelations from Allah to people.

Islam defines five basic duties that all Muslims must observe, which are considered as the pillars of their faith. These are:

  1. Believing in the oneness and unity of Allah and professing this belief with the following words: " I bear witness that there is no God but Allah and I bear witness that Muhammad is His slave and His Messenger."
  2. Salat: The five daily prayers:
    • At dawn, before sunrise.
    • At midday, after the sun passes its highest.
    • In the late part of the afternoon.
    • Just after sunset.
    • At night.
    These five daily prayers help the Muslim to be constantly aware of the presence of Allah in everyday life. These prayers are a constant reminder for the Muslim who prays of the omnipresence and omnipotence of Allah and they help the person praying not to stray from the right path.
  3. Zakat: Charity towards poor. Islam places great emphasis on generosity and charity as a means of purifying one's soul and to get closer to Allah. The Muslim is required to give free gifts whenever he can; but apart from that is his duty to give an alms tax (Zakat) of about 2.5 percent of his capital assets once a year, which goes to the poor and needy, etc. In this way, the zakat enables the Muslim community to take care of all its members and to ensure that no one is deprived of the fundamental right to a decent and dignified existence.

  4. Sawm: Fasting during Ramadan, the ninth month in the Islamic calendar. This fasting is prescribed for all Muslims who are healthy and mature, unless they are discouraged from observing the fasting by various circumstances such as travel, old age, illness, mental insanity or, in women by menstruation, pregnancy or breastfeeding. Fasting in Ramadan begins before dawn and lasts until after sunset. During this time the Muslim refrains from eating, drinking water or other beverages, having sex with his spouse and smoking. Fasting teaches the Muslim self-discipline and control and at the same time purifies the soul and body, and it strengthens God-consciousness.

  5. Hajj: The pilgrimage to Mecca: This pilgrimage is a duty for all Muslims at least once in their life, provided they are healthy and can raise the financial means for it. The annual pilgrimage to Mecca is one of the greatest events in the Islamic world because it brings together Muslims of all races and countries on earth. This great experience in the life of a Muslim also helps him to get closer to Allah.