What do Muslims believe?

# About Islam

The Six Principles of Faith in Islam

Islam has six articles of faith. The central element of Islam is belief in the existence and oneness of Almighty God (Allah). In addition, Muslims believe in the angels, the scriptures revealed by Allah, all His prophets, the resurrection on the last day, as well as in the predestination, i.e., the fate whether it involves good or bad.

In the Quran it is mentioned that God has sent to every nation a prophet. Exactly how many prophets there were, only He knows. Some of those prophets are Noah, Abraham, Joseph, David, Solomon, Moses and Jesus - peace be upon them all. However, Islam strictly rejects the idea that Jesus is God's Son and Mary is God's mother. God is far above having a mother or a son. Jesus was a man who was born out of the Virgin Mary on God's Word and whom He called to be a prophet.

Belief in the earlier scriptures revealed by God, such as the Torah and the Gospel, is also part of Islam. However, in the course of time people have - intentionally or unintentionally - falsified, forgotten or lost and are no longer available to us in their original version, which is why God revealed the Quran to guide people back on the right path to show. In order to protect the Quran from distortion, only the original Arabic text may be referred to as “Quran”; Translations are just an attempt to grasp meaning. For this reason, Muslims only recite the Koran in ritual prayer in Arabic.
In the Qur'an, the connection between faith and good works is emphasized in many places: "Verily, those who believe and do righteous good deeds, for them will be Gardens under which rivers flow (Paradise). That is the great success" (sura 85, verse 11).

This means that it is not enough “to have faith in your heart”; faith also includes performing acts of worship that God has made man's duty. These are the five pillars of Islam:

  1. The creed of Islam - Attestation of Faith (Shahada): "I bear witness that there is no god worthy of worship except Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah."
  2. The five daily obligatory prayers (Shahada).
  3. The zakat, it is a mandatory charitable contribution, often considered to be a tax that is incumbent on every Muslim who has a certain minimum amount.
  4. Fasting in the month of Ramadan.
  5. Hajj, is the pilgrimage to Makkah, it is a mandatory religious duty for Muslims that must be carried out at least once in their lifetime by all adult Muslims who are physically and financially capable of undertaking the journey.

The meaning of life according to Islamic understanding:
For Muslims, life on earth is just a test.If we pass this test by leading a godly life, God will reward us for it with the paradise, in which we will live forever, and where there are no more worries, fears or illnesses, but only bliss. So True real life is in the hereafter. Thus, according to Islamic understanding, the meaning of life is to serve God in the best way.
" And I (Allah) created not the jinn and mankind except that they should worship Me (Alone)"  (51:56).

Understanding that this life is just a test; helps Muslims accept their fate and promotes character building and morality. A Muslim knows that everything that happens to him is willed by Allah, which means that he is grateful in good times and not desperate in bad times. This attitude is by no means fatalistic; Muslims are called upon to do their utmost to be successful in this life and in the hereafter. In the famous Hadith when Prophet Muhammad, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, noticed a Bedouin leaving his camel without tying it. He asked the Bedouin; Why don't you tie down your camel? The Bedouin answered “I put my trust in Allah”, the Prophet then said, "Tie your camel first, then put your trust in Allah".